How We Teach Phonics 

At Perranporth School we use synthetic phonics programmes to teach reading called “Giant Phonics” and ‘Letters and Sounds.’ These programmes teach phonics and reading skills through six distinct phases. Children are taught to identify sounds in spoken words, recognise the common spelling of each phoneme, to blend phonemes into sounds for reading and how to segment words into phonemes for spellings.

Phases explained: Click below for details

Phase 1 

Phase 2

Phase 3

Phase 4

Phase 5 

Phase 6 

Click here to see a parent’s guide to phonics at Perranporth School.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *